Holiday’s

facebook-post

During the holidays we are supposed to be surrounded by loved ones, family members, and friends, but lately people are having a hard time doing this. I remember going to my grandparents house for Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years Day. I remember seeing and spending time with my cousins, aunts, uncles, and other distant relatives I hadn’t seen all year, while a fire was burning downstairs in their fireplace. Looking back, I didn’t really care about spending time with my family because I would’ve preferred to stay at home, but as you get older you gather a better perspective. When you’re young, you don’t realize how so many things can change in a one year period.

The reason I say this, I lost my mother a few days before Mothers Day and my grandfather on July 4th of that same year. As you can expect, I took these situations hard, not because they happened all of the sudden, but because I was extremely close to them. That following Thanksgiving my grandmother wanted to have a family get together at my aunts house, now not everyone was able to come, but there was a good number of people that showed up to celebrate.

Like I said, before I didn’t really cherish these times earlier in my life, maybe because I was to young to understand that these kinds of things can happen to you. The reason I bring these instances up is, even before we can transitions from Halloween, we are inundated by Christmas; whether its a commercial highlighting their Black Friday deals, ads being sent to us in the mail, and decorations that are put up in stores for people to purchase. This is bothersome to because, we are overlooking a very special holiday, one every American should be proud of; instead we are cutting our family time short so we can get in line for the latest deal at our local department stores. I know a lot of my family members, friends are guilty of this. However, its not their fault; I’m not blaming them, the ones who I’m blaming are those greedy, immoral, money-hungry corporations,like Best Buy, Target, Macy’s, and others that feed off of this and these companies are scheduling and enforcing their employees to go into work when they should be spending time with loved ones.


Everybody should already know or be aware that the holiday season is coming up, as soon as Thanksgiving is over a lot of people go out shopping for Christmas gifts. However, many people have already finished their shopping way before this, but those who haven’t and wait to the last, like I do, can purchase gift cards to give out to their family members. I personally prefer to get a gift card to some place where I shop; rather than get something I’m probably never going to wear or use. I find it rude, embarrassing, and classless when people ask for money for a Christmas gift because money is so impersonal and makes the person think that all you want from them is their money. Throughout the year, if you drop subtle hints of where you shop or what you might like, the person buying your gift will have an idea of what you might want. I remember doing this because I’m a very hard person to shop for, if I want something I usually just go buy it myself, instead of waiting for someone to possibly get me what I might actually  want. By doing this I know I’m getting exactly what I want. For example, get them an Olive Garden, Dicks Sporting Goods, Starbucks, and Regal Cinemas  gift card, just to name a few. So when you can’t think of a gift, getting them a gift card will never go wrong.

Leave a Reply

